Thursday, May 6, 2021

Tugade to transport providers: Give 20% fare discount to Medal of Valor awardees, dependents

May 17, 2018 @ 6:16
Spread the love

Clark-based Department of Transportation (DOTr) reminded Thursday all transportation offices and agencies to provide 20 percent fare discount to all Medal of Valor awardees.

Under Republic Act No. 9049, a Medal of Valor awardee, including his/her widow/widower and/or dependents, shall be entitled to a 20 percent discount on all transportation services, public or private, anywhere in the country, DOTr Secretary Arthur Tugade said in a statement.

The Medal of Valor award is given to a military personnel who performed a conspicuous deed of personal bravery or self-sacrifice above and beyond the call of duty that distinguishes the recipient from his comrades.

Currently, there are 41 recipients of the award, with five of them remaining in active service, Tugade said.

Beneficiaries will receive discounts on air and sea fares, including advanced booking, and on land fares such as public railways, buses, jeepneys, taxi and shuttle services, and Transport Network Vehicle Services (TNVS), he said.

Medal of Valor awardees and their widow/widower and/or dependents shall also be allowed to use the VIP and heroes’ lounges and facilities in all airports nationwide, free of charge, the DOTr chief added.

To avail these benefits, Tugade said the Medal of Valor awardee, his/her widow/widower and/or dependents must present a valid and original Medal of Valor Identification Card issued by the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) as proof of eligibility. The benefits shall apply to awardees under Presidential Decree No. 1678, which have since been integrated to the Philippine National Police (PNP).

According to Tugade, providing the proper discount and benefits is just a small way of paying back the sacrifices and heroism of the awardees.

“This simple gesture is our way of showing our gratitude to our valiant soldiers. They went above and beyond their call of duty to ensure our safety, and we are forever in their debt,” he said.

Agencies that will be honoring the privileges for the Medal of Valor awardees include the following: Maritime Industry Authority (MARINA), Philippine Ports Authority (PPA), the Civil Aeronautics Board (CAB), the Civil Aviation Authority of the Philippines (CAAP), Manila International Airport Authority (MIAA), Mactan-Cebu International Airport Authority (MCIAA), Clark International Airport Corporation (CIAC), Light Rail Transit Authority (LRTA), Philippine National Railways (PNR), Metro Rail Transit 3 (MRT3), and the Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB).

Politiko would love to hear your views on this...

Spread the love
The comments posted on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

Trending News

Want Politiko alerts on your inbox? Subscribe here.