Thursday, May 6, 2021

Ompong displaces more than 6K families in Aurora, says PDRRMO

Sep 15, 2018 @ 13:19
Spread the love

The Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office of Aurora headed by Acting Governor Rommel Rico Angara reported Saturday that more than 6,000 have been displaced due to typhoon Ompong.

According to the 12 noon report of the agency, 6,242 families from seven municipalities were forced to flee their homes for safety due to the threat from Ompong. Majority of them stayed in evacuation centers.

Except for the town of San Luis, which did not provide a specific breakdown in the number of displaced individuals, the six others, namely, Baler, Dipaculao, Dingalan, Dilasag, Casiguran, and Dinalungan, reported a total of 22,429 displaced residents.

Before making landfall in Cagayan province early Saturday morning, Ompong was located in the Pacific Ocean, east northeast of Casiguran town, Friday evening.

During Ompong’s presence over the landmass of Cagayan, Apayao, and Ilocos Norte on Saturday, Aurora was placed under Typhoon Signals No. 2 and 3.(END)

Politiko would love to hear your views on this...

Spread the love
The comments posted on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

Trending News

Want Politiko alerts on your inbox? Subscribe here.