WebClick Tracer

Ecija farmer coops get farm machinery from DA

The Department of Agriculture-Central Luzon (DA-3) has distributed farm machinery to various farmers’ cooperatives and associations (FCAs) in Nueva Ecija, according to officials.

The move is part of the DA’s farm mechanization program intended to advance rice and corn production in the province.

According to a Philippine News Agency report, the beneficiaries came from the towns of Zaragoza, Llanera, Bongabon, San Isidro, Talavera, Rizal, Gabaldon and San Isidro.

The first four towns received four four-wheel drive tractors while the rest received four combine harvesters.

Beneficiaries from the towns of Talavera, Cuyapo, Carranglan, Talugtug, Sta. Rosa, Cabiao, Peñaranda and Gapan City were given 20 shallow tube wells, according to DA.

Under the DA’s corn mechanization program, the Canaan West Farmers Association in Canaan West, Rizal and Anak Farmers Association in Malacañang, Sta. Rosa each received a shallow tube well.

A four-wheel drive tractor for corn was received by Binhing Butil Agricultural Maker Association in Las Piñas, Peñaranda, while the Simimbaan Communal Irrigators Association Inc. in Simimbaan, Cuyapo got a four-while drive tractor for cassava.

Provincial agriculturist Bernardo Valdez said on Thursday his office was instructed by Nueva Ecija Governor Aurelio Umali and Vice Governor Anthony Umali to help the cooperatives in preparing the documents required by the DA.