Saturday, January 23, 2021

Bulacan educators cited as ‘new heroes, catalysts of change’

Apr 20, 2017 @ 10:06
Spread the love

Provincial officials headed by Governor Wilhelmino M. Sy-Alvarado and Vice Governor Daniel Fernando have recognized the important role of educators in the province by describing them as new “heroes” and “catalysts of change”.

Alvarado, who was the guest of honor and speaker during the awarding ceremony of the 27th Bulacan Outstanding Administrators, Teachers and Supervisors (BOATS) held at the Bulacan Capitol Gymnasium in this city late Wednesday afternoon, acknowledged the not so fancy but very influential role of educators in building a better nation.

“We all know that you are not only sharing literature, arts, science or mathematics inside the classrooms but also creating the awareness of the students on the lessons of life, on how to live good, upright and being meaningful members of the society,” Alvarado said.

Quoting some words from former US President Franklin Delano Roosevelt that “democracy cannot succeed” without good educators, Alvarado pointed out that education is a most powerful weapon that can be used to change the world.

Vice Governor Fernando said that educators are the inspirations of new leaders, builders and thinkers that are shaping the bright future of the country.

“We cannot be discounted the sacrifices and knowledge that are being transferred by our educators to the youth,” Fernando said.

For his part, Bulacan Schools Division Superintendent Dr. Romeo M. Alip said that the intellect, skill, capability and conduct of the awardees were wrought and fortified by the mission and vision of the Department of Education (DepEd).

Meanwhile, the BOATS awardees for Elementary School Teacher category are Lucila G. Macabante of Salacot Elementary School; Marlivel C. Zaño of Sta. Maria Elementary School; Eleanor B. Jose of San Roque Elementary School; Arlene I. Lazaro of Dike Elementary School; Jenny C. Dapon of Malis Elementary School, Charito S. Adriano of Tabing Bakod Elementary School; Belinda G. Perez of Pulo Elementary School; Elesia DR. Dizon of C. M. De Jesus Memorial Elementary School; Jocylyn DC. Manzano of Balagtas Central School, Edgardo A. Santiago of Obando Central School and Geraldine S. Buluran of North Hills Village Elementary School.

Manolo C. Cunanan of Lumangbayan Elementary School was recognized in the Elementary School Head Teacher Category, while Ronaldo A. Contreras of Masuso Elementary School, Elma DC. Ege of Magmarale Elementary School, Minerva P. Sarmiento of FVR Phase 3 Elementary School, Roderick G. Bautista of Sta. Maria Elementary School and Felicidad B. Dela Cruz were awarded for the Elementary School Principal Category.

Rafael Nicolas P. Dionisio of Marcelo H. Del Pilar National High School was acknowledged in the Secondary School Teacher Category, Guillermo M. Faundo of Fortunato F. Halili National Agricultural School in the Secondary School Head Teacher Category and Lauro L. Lagman of Sta. Maria National High School for the Secondary School Principal Category.

The awardees received plaques, medals and PHP10,000 cash incentive each.

Alip said the awarding of BOATS aims to enhance the dignity of the teaching profession by giving recognition to Bulacan administrators and teachers who have served the youth with exemplary competence and dedication. (PNA)

Politiko would love to hear your views on this...

Spread the love
The comments posted on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

Trending News

Want Politiko alerts on your inbox? Subscribe here.