Tuesday, December 18, 2018

Arroyo joins junking of impeachment complaint vs. SC justices

Sep 25, 2018 @ 14:09

House Speaker Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo joined on Tuesday in voting to finally dismiss the impeachment complaints against seven Supreme Court justices led by Chief Justice Teresita Leonardo-de Castro.

According to a statement from the House of Representatives, 22 congressmen, including the Pampanga 2nd District Rep., approved the report of the House Committee on Justice to junk the impeachment complaints against the magistrates for insufficiency in substance.

The complaints that stemmed from the Supreme Court justices’ move to oust former Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno through a quo warranto petition covered Associate Justices Diosdado Peralta, Lucas Bersamin, Francis Jardeleza, Noel Tijam, Andres Reyes, Jr., and Alexander Gesmundo.

The House Committee had earlier ruled on Sept. 11 that the facts presented by the complainants against the justices do not constitute the offense being charged.

All seven justices were accused to have committed culpable violation of the Constitution over the removal of Sereno through a quo warranto petition.

Further, De Castro, Peralta, Bersamin, Jardeleza and Tijam were accused also of betrayal of public trust for refusing to inhibit from voting on the quo warranto petition after testifying against Sereno in the congressional impeachment complaint hearings against the latter.

Albay Rep. Edcel Lagman, who is one of the complainants, had alleged that Arroyo influenced the junking of the complaints, but which the former president rejected.(END)

Politiko would love to hear your views on this...
Recommended Articles
The comments posted on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of POLITICS.com.ph. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

Trending News

Want Politiko alerts on your inbox? Subscribe here.