Friday, October 7, 2022

5 flood control projects protect 3 Aurora towns from heavy flooding

Sep 21, 2022 @ 11:11
Spread the love

The Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) has completed five flood control structures in three towns of Aurora province to help protect them from heavy flooding during the monsoon season.

According to Public Works Secretary Manuel Bonoan, the DPWH Aurora district engineering office (DEO) finished construction of flood-mitigation structures in the towns of Baler, Dilasag, and Dipaculao.

A total of P58.8 million was allocated from the 2022 national budget for the five projects.

In Aurora’s capital town of Baler, a 390-meter slope protection along the Duongan River section in Barangay Sabang was built to supplement the nearby 100-meter wall protection.

The structure is seen protecting the community of Sitio Vietnam with stone masonry walls provision that utilizes boats of the fisherfolk during inclement weather conditions.

Another 506.9-meter slope protection now also serves as shields for residents of Barangay Diagyan in Dilasag town.

Politiko would love to hear your views on this...

Spread the love
The comments posted on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

Trending News

Want Politiko alerts on your inbox? Subscribe here.